

District 19 Executive Committee August 11, 2018

A regular meeting of the Toastmasters International The District 19 District Executive Committee was held at 11:15 a.m. on August 11, 2018 at EMC Building in Des Moines. District Director Mark Latta presided.

CALL TO ORDER at 11:15 a.m. by Chair Mark Latta, District Director

INSPIRATIONAL THOUGHT: Rachel Christenson

DISTRICT MISSION: Regis Zweigart

MEETING APPOINTMENTS:

Timer: Gerry Holloway
Parliamentarian: Cyndi Hanson, DTM
Secretary: Cyndi Hanson, DTM

CERTIFICATION OF QUORUM

With 16 of 27 voting DEC members present, a quorum was established.

ADOPTION OF THE AGENDA

The agenda as distributed was adopted without objection.

MEETING MINUTES FOR JULY 2018 District Executive Council meeting were accepted as presented.

PROFIT LOSS STATEMENT REPORT (Finance Manager Report)

The Profit and Loss Statement and Finance Manager Report were submitted by Finance Manager Sherry Sullivan.

CONFIRMATION OF APPOINTED OFFICERS FOR THE REMAINDER OF 2018-2019

These appointments were confirmed without objection:

Title	First Name	Last Name
Area 21 Director	Sonia	Wilson
Assistant Area 41 Director	Regis	Zweigart
Assistant Area 61 Director	Rita	Saigh

CONFIRMATION OF APPOINTED COMMITTEE CHAIRS FOR 2018-2019

These appointments were confirmed without objection:

Committee	First Name	Last Name
District Leadership	Jeanne	Heil
Toastmaster of the Year Procedure	Ike	Rayford
Alignment	Betty	Long

OFFICER REPORTS

See Appendix B to the Minutes for the reports

District Director Mark Latta

Program Quality Director Theresa Mickelson

Club Growth Director Jennifer Snook

Public Relations Manager Saeko VonBehren

Division W Director Stacie Anderson

Division X Director Missy Boardrow

Division Y Director Amanda Martin

Division Z Director Lisa Persels

NEW BUSINESS

TOASTMASTER OF THE YEAR (TMOY) PROCEDURES 2017-2018

Jeanne Heil made a motion to have Area & Division Level announcements be eliminated and all submissions for TMOY using the application be sent directly from the club to the District Selection Committee chair by October 1. With the announcement of the winner will be made at the November 10 District Hall of Fame. The motion was seconded and approved.

DISTRICT COUNCIL MEETING

Norma Jean Havlik moved the District Council meeting be moved from October 27, 2018 to September 22, 2018 convening at 10:00 a.m. Central Daylight Time. The motion was seconded and approved.

ANNOUNCEMENTS

The District Council meeting will meet virtually on Saturday, September 22 at 10:00 a.m. Central Daylight Time. Information for participation will be provided to voting DC members. The next District Executive Committee will be September 15 at EMC in Des Moines.

ADJOURNED: 11:45 a.m.

Cyndi Hanson, DTM District Parliamentarian Substitute Secretary